Brian Fekete Named Daktronics Honorable Mention All-American

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – University of Tampa men’s soccer player Brian Fekete was named an honorable mention All-American by Daktronics.

The junior defender from Plant City, Fla., started 13 games for the Spartans and finished with a goal and three assists. He was also the leader of a Spartan defensive unit that notched a shutout of SSC champion and national finalist Lynn University.

In 2010, Fekete was also a second-team all-Sunshine State Conference selection while being a first-team all-South Region choice by Daktronics.

Sports information directors from NCAA Division II schools and conferences sponsoring men’s soccer selected the Daktronics All-America teams. The process begins at the regional level with all first team All-Region picks advancing to the national ballot. This is the sixth year Daktronics has sponsored the NCAA Division II men’s soccer All-America and All-Region teams.

The team is sponsored by Daktronics, Inc., an acknowledged world leader in scoring, timing and programmable display systems for virtually every sport at every level of competition. The team is voted on by the NCAA Division II members of the College Sports Information Directors of America (D2SIDA), with the online nomination and voting process powered by ATHLETICSITE.COM.

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men’s Soccer All-America First Team
GK Ryan Bass Rockhurst (Mo.) So. Jackson, Mo.
F Tesho Akindele* Colorado School of Mines So. Thornton, Colo.
F Mark Anderson#^ Barry (Fla.) Sr. Durham, England
F Chance Bukoski Hawaii Pacific Sr. Kapaa, Hawaii
F Lasse Sohrweide* Anderson (S.C.) Sr. Flensberg, Germany
MF Tyler Schultz Seattle Pacific (Wash.) Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
MF Diego Tabares^ Franklin Pierce (N.H.) Sr. Seekonk, Mass.
MF Joseph Toby Flagler (Fla.) Jr. Freetown, Sierra Leone
MF Rob Vincent% Charleston (W.Va.) Jr. Liverpool, England
D Fabian Kling^ Fort Lewis (Colo.) Sr. Augsburg, Germany
D Jon Pearman Seattle Pacific (Wash.) Jr. Glendale, Ariz.
D Tom Reilly* Franklin Pierce (N.H.) Sr. Wallasey, England
D Taylor Rivas Cal State Los Angeles Sr. Lancaster, Calif.

#2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men’s Soccer Player of the Year
*Repeat first team selections from 2010
%Second team selection in 2010
^Third team selections in 2010

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men’s Soccer All-America Second Team
GK Ryan Wirth Fort Lewis (Colo.) Sr. Bayfield, Colo.
F Terry Gibbs Bloomfield (N.J.) Sr. London, England
F Scott Grode Metro State (Colo.) Sr. Gilbert, Ariz.
F Mark Magee Rockhurst (Mo.) So. Evesham, England
F Erik Pajunk Barton (N.C.) So. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
MF Nathan Fitzgerald* Midwestern State (Texas) Sr. Wichita Falls, Texas
MF Felix Horn Nyack (N.Y.) So. Haille, Germany
MF Alex Nass Colorado School of Mines Jr. Piracicaba, Sao Paulo, Brazil
MF Greg Shertzer Lock Haven (Pa.) Sr. Lebanon, Pa.
D Berekk Blackwell Fort Lewis (Colo.) Sr. Scottsdale, Ariz.
D Kyle Miller Rockhurst (Mo.) Sr. Overland Park, Kan.
D Ryan Spence* Midwestern State (Texas) Sr. Decatur, Texas
D Clayton Ulmer Bridgeport (Conn.) So. Hamden, Conn.

*First team selections in 2010

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men’s Soccer All-America Third Team
GK Vinny Papageorgiou^ Franklin Pierce (N.H.) Sr. Wilmington, Mass.
F Luis Gonzalez Cal State Tech, Pomona Sr. Long Beach, Calif.
F Thomas Hoang Fort Lewis (Colo.) Sr. Colorado Springs, Colo.
F Cristobal Montes Notre Dame de Namur (Calif.) Sr. Fremont, Calif.
F Saeed Robinson Grand Canyon (Ariz.) Jr. Portmore, Jamaica
MF Johan Bergfeld Flagler (Fla.) Sr. Akers Styckebruk, Sweden
MF Diego Cabral Fort Hays State (Kan.) Fr. Asuncion, Paraguay
MF Heiko Eberhardt Lynn (Fla.) Jr. Reichenbach, Germany
MF Oscar Yniguez Notre Dame de Namur (Calif.) Sr. Redwood City, Calif.
D John Claffey Millersville (Pa.) Sr. Glen Mills, Pa.
D Justin Clark Rollins (Fla.) Sr. Atlanta, Ga.
D Andrew Mejia Metro State (Colo.) So. Littleton, Colo.
D Jason Sangha Lynn (Fla.) Fr. Southampton, England

^Third team selection in 2010

2011 Daktronics NCAA Division II Men’s Soccer All-America Honorable Mention
GK Chris Fidler Incarnate Word (Texas) Gr. Bramhall, Cheshire, England
GK Zach Johnson Seattle Pacific (Wash.) Jr. Snohomish, Wash.
GK Johnny Rodrigues Barry (Fla.) Jr. Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
F Jose Ferraz Christian Brothers (Tenn.) Fr. Belo Horizonte, Brazil
F Harald Gracholski Lynn (Fla.) Gr. Cologne, Germany
F Dion Peters Charleston (W.Va.) Jr. Trincity, Trinidad
F Chris Tsonis Southern New Hampshire Jr. Dartmouth, Mass.
MF Robert Kinsey Colorado State-Pueblo Sr. Denver, Colo.
MF Keith Lough Northwood (Mich.) Sr. Edinburgh, Scotland
MF Guilherme Oliveira Barry (Fla.) Jr. Belo Horizonte, Brazil
MF Andreas Olson C.W. Post (N.Y.) Jr. Oppeid, Norway
MF Eric Pepper Millersville (Pa.) Sr. Reading, Pa.
MF Philip Wilson Colorado School of Mines Sr. Mansfield, Texas
MF Chris Yoder Metro State (Colo.) Sr. Gilbert, Ariz.
D Eirik Bjoernoe C.W. Post (N.Y.) So. Randaberg, Norway
D Kyle Cadigan Cal State Stanislaus So. Clovis, Calif.
D Brian Fekete Tampa (Fla.) Jr. Plant City, Fla.
D Mike Kalas California (Pa.) Sr. Irwin, Pa.
D Danny Stoker Queens (N.Y.) Jr. London, England
D Nick Sykes Grand Canyon (Ariz.) Sr. Boise, Idaho

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share
Spartans on FacebookSpartans on TwitterSpartans on YouTubeText BlastLive StatsLive BroadcastsRSS FeedGet E-mail AlertsMobile Website