Sophomore Trey Oest pitched his second complete-game shutout of the season.
Sophomore Trey Oest pitched his second complete-game shutout of the season.

No.1 Spartans Oest Mocs, Advance to National Tournament

Box Score

TAMPA, Fla. – Sophomore Trey Oest pitched a masterful complete-game shutout to help the No. 1 University of Tampa baseball team oust No. 24 Florida Southern College by a 3-0 score. UT earns its second consecutive south region championship and will head to the NCAA Division II National Championship Finals in Cary, N.C.

The Spartans soar to 51-2 on the season after emerging undefeated in the south region tournament while the Moccasins conclude their 2014 campaign at 35-19.

This represents the 16th NCAA Division II Baseball National Tournament for the Spartans and the eighth under head coach Joe Urso.  Tampa will look for its seventh baseball national championship and fourth since 2006.  The Spartans will also bid for its third back-to-back championship season as they defend their 2013 title.

Oest (8-0) was brilliant in his nine innings, needing just 78 pitches to go the distance.  The ace limited FSC to a single hit while striking out five and walking none for the win.

First baseman Sean O’Brien tallied three hits including two doubles while scoring a run for the UT team.  Third baseman Tyler Ding hit 2-for-3 with a run and a RBI while leftfielder Michael Danner picked up a base-hit and a RBI.

Mocs pitcher Ben Richardson (8-6) was tabbed with the loss, tossing six-plus innings allowing three runs off five hits.

Five players were named to the all-tournament team as Giovanny Alfonzo, Stephen Dezzi and Kevin McNorton were recognized for their tournament performances along with Oest and Ding.  Senior Ding was named Most Outstanding Player on the team after batting .625 across four games in the tournament.

UT will play the Midwest regional champion on Saturday May, 24 at 1 p.m. at the USA Baseball National Training Complex in Cary, N.C.  Tune in to for updates regarding the national tournament.

South Region All-Tournament Team
C- Justin Riddle  UAH
1B- Trey Vavra  FSC
2B- Ben Hall  UAH
3B- Tyler Ding  Tampa
SS- Giovanny Alfonzo Tampa
OF- Kevin Curcio  FSC
OF- Conner McCain UAH
OF- Domonic Brugnoni FSC
DH- Stephen Dezzi  Tampa
P- Kevin McNorton Tampa
P- Trey Oest  Tampa
Most Outstanding Player – Tyler Ding Tampa

Printable Version Open As Word Bookmark and Share
Spartans on FacebookSpartans on TwitterSpartans on YouTubeText BlastLive StatsLive BroadcastsRSS FeedGet E-mail AlertsMobile Website