NSCAA Tabs Tampa Men's Soccer as South Region Staff of the Year

NSCAA Tabs Tampa Men's Soccer as South Region Staff of the Year

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – The National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) announced the 2016 NSCAA Regional Staff of the Year winners for NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II and NCAA Division III men's soccer programs.

University of Tampa head coach Adrian Bush led his staff as the recipient of the South Region honor, after UT became the regional champions. Bush, who was also the 2008 South Region Coach of the Year, guided his alma mater to a 13-5-3 overall record. The UT men's soccer staff includes associate head coach Maurice Loregnard and assistants Clete Goddard, Eric Sims and Alex Delgado.

"This award is a credit to our players and staff on a great season," says Bush. "This year was truly about the greater good of the team and one of the most enjoyable experiences in my coaching career. From our trainers to our staff and our players, this award is shared by all."

The Spartans won the University's eighth South Region title, third under Bush, with tournament wins over No. 4 Lynn and No. 18 Palm Beach Atlantic.

In 2016, UT outscored its opponents 48-25, notching a total of seven shutouts. Playing one of the nation's most challenging schedules, the Spartans met 10 nationally-ranked opponents, including a stretch of five straight to end the season. During those matches, UT went 3-1-1 with the lone loss coming by a 1-0 score to No. 1 Wingate in the NCAA Quarterfinal.

Each of the 24 staffs receiving NSCAA Regional Staff of the Year recognition will be honored at the College Coaches Awards Reception, presented by Surf Cup Sports, on January 12, 2017 at the JW Marriott Los Angeles in conjunction with the 2017 NSCAA Convention.

NSCAA Regional Staff of the Year recipients will be placed on the ballot for National Staff of the Year consideration within their respective NCAA Division, along with the coaching staffs from all schools which compete in the semifinals of their NCAA Championship.

Voting for National Staff of the Year will begin on December 6 and end on December 13. The NSCAA will announce the Men's and Women's National Staff of the Year for all NCAA divisions on December 20.

Click here for complete NSCAA release