2019 AVCA Division II National Champions

2019 AVCA Division II National Champions

TAVARES, Fla. – The University of Tampa Spartans are your 2019 AVCA Division II National Champions! The sandy Spartans earn this title as only a second-year program, after finishing fourth at the AVCA Small College Championships, in its inaugural season. In the championship match, UT defeated Texas A&M Kingsville in by a final score of 3-0. History has been made, as Tampa Beach Volleyball becomes the first team in history to win a title both indoors and on the beach in the same season! 

In order to be crowned national champions, the Spartans earned a perfect 7-0 record at the championship event. Friday, Tampa swept Tusculum College and Principia College 3-0. On Saturday, UT defeated Colorado Mesa 4-0, Carson-Newman 5-0, and Saint Leo 3-0. Finally, the Spartans downed the Spring Hill College Badgers, 3-0, in the national semifinal.

The University of Tampa beach volleyball program concludes its 2019 campaign with an overall record of 20-10. 

This is the second national champion title for head coach Jeff Lamm, this year. Lamm also assisted the 2018 indoor volleyball team that won the 2018 NCAA Division II national championship. Five of the sandy Spartans were also on the indoor squad. The now two-time national champions include Marisa BeisnerNylah DempsMelissa EliasSorrel Houghton, and Katie McKiel

 A free app is also available for free download through Apple and Google Play stores. Please search for Tampa Spartans Front Row.


UT also offers free messaging service for text and/or email, which sends alerts and press releases for Spartan teams. To sign up, please register at www.tampaspartans.com.