David Lebron Named Region Pitcher of Year as Other Spartans Honored

David Lebron Named Region Pitcher of Year as Other Spartans Honored

GREENSBORO, N.C. - The 2017 ABCA/Rawlings NCAA Division II All-Region teams and Regional Players of the Year have been announced in all eight regions. The University of Tampa had a total of four players named to the all-region team.

David Lebron led the group as he was also tabbed the South Region Pitcher of the Year. Kevin Santa and J.D. Osborne joined Lebron on the first team. Vin Cosenzo was named to the second team.

Lebron, a junior from Homestead, Fla., was also named the Sunshine State Conference Pitcher of the Year. In 15 games this season, he posted a 2.66 ERA with a record of 7-1. In 91.1 innings of work, Lebron struck out 103 opposing hitters. He closed the season with a 15-strikeout effort in the NCAA South Regional against defending national champion Nova Southeastern.

Santa, senior shortstop from Yabucoa, P.R., ends his two-year Spartan career with the highest batting average in program history at .429. The second-team All-American hit .423 with seven home runs and 39 RBI in his final season. He was also a first-team all-SSC selection.

Osborne, a senior first baseman from Whitby, Ontario, put up some of the nation's eading power numbers. While hitting .387, he slugged a team-leading 20 home runs with 86 RBI. He was also named first-team all-SSC.

Cosenzo, a senior designated hitter from North Caldwell, N.J., was also a first-team all-SSC choice. He hit .361 with five home runs and 43 RBI as a senior, and slugged 15 home runs with a career batting average of .366.

The teams are voted on by members of the American Baseball Coaches Association and the process is led by the ABCA NCAA Div. II All-America Committee.

ABCA/Rawlings All-Region first-team selections are nominated for ABCA/Rawlings All-America honors. The ABCA/Rawlings All-Americans will be announced on Tuesday, May 30. The ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove Team will be announced on Wednesday, June 21.

The ABCA All-America team was first recognized in 1949 and now includes nine divisions: NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA Divisions I, II and III, Pacific Association Division, and high school. ABCA/Rawlings Gold Glove teams were first recognized in 2007.

The Chair of the ABCA NCAA Div. III All-America & Coach of the Year Committee is Rudy Garbalosa of Lynn University. Also on the committee are Jim Gantt of Catawba College, Harry Hillson of Mansfield University, Rick Giannetti of Dominican College, Rob Penders of St. Edwards University, Kyle Poock of Winona State University, Jamie Detillion of Grand Valley State University and Randy Betten of Cal Poly Pomona.

The ABCA, founded in 1945, is the primary professional organization for baseball coaches at the amateur level. Its over 8,000 members represent all 50 states and 25 countries. Since its initial meeting of 27 college baseball coaches in June 1945, Association membership has broadened to include eight divisions: NCAA Division I, II and III, NAIA, NJCAA, Pacific Association Division, High School and Youth. The 74th annual ABCA Convention will be held Jan. 4-7, 2018 in Indianapolis, Indiana.

About Rawlings
Rawlings Sporting Goods Company, Inc. is an innovative manufacturer and marketer of sporting goods worldwide. Founded in 1887, Rawlings is an authentic global sports brand, trusted by generations of athletes of all skill levels. Rawlings' unparalleled quality, innovative engineering and expert craftsmanship are the fundamental reasons why more professional athletes, national governing bodies and sports leagues choose Rawlings. Rawlings is the Official Ball Supplier and Batting Helmet of Major League Baseball®, the official baseball of Minor League Baseball™ and the NCAA®, and the approved baseball, basketball, football and softball of the National High School Federation®. For more information, please visit Rawlings.com or by phone at (314) 819-2800.

Click here for the complete release