SSC Player of the Year Yorvis Torrealba Among Six All-Conference Spartans

SSC Player of the Year Yorvis Torrealba Among Six All-Conference Spartans

MELBOURNE, Fla. - The Sunshine State Conference presents its 2019 baseball postseason awards with University of Tampa outfielder Yorvis Torrealba earning Player of the Year honors. UT had six players named all-SSC while Eckerd College collected seven accolades including Pitcher of the Year and Coach of the Year. In total, 34 student-athletes are recognized on the All-SSC baseball teams. Voting for the All-SSC baseball awards is conducted among the league's baseball coaches.

SSC Baseball All-Conference History: All-SSC Teams | Players & Coaches of the Year

Torrealba, a junior from Parkland, Fla., is named the 2019 SSC Player of the Year. The junior outfielder ranks at the top of the league in batting average (.417), slugging percentage (.697) and runs scored (55). The Parkland, Florida product is also Top-5 in hits (73), stolen bases (19), on-base percentage (.502), doubles (14), and home runs (11). Against SSC pitching, he led the league batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging with a .426/.539/.689 slash line. Torrealba is the seventh Spartan to win Player of the Year honors and the first since 20101.

Joining Torrealba as a first-team selection are teammates Tyler Beck and Keven Pimentel. UT also had a pair of second-teamers in Alec Aleywine and Mason Duke while Nick DeTringo was named honorable mention.

Dillon McCollough earns Pitcher of the Year following an 8-1 season on the hill for Eckerd. In 108.0 innings pitched, he struck out 137 batters and registered a WHIP of 0.99. The senior from Deltona, Florida recorded a 2.08 earned run average and .223 batting average against across his 15 appearances in 2019. McCollough made a start against all 10 SSC opponents in 2019, tossing eight or more innings in seven of those games. His league record is 5-1 comes on the back of a 2.46 ERA and 1.04 WHIP in those 10 appearances. He is the second Triton to be named SSC Pitcher of the Year2.

Nova Southeastern University's Duncan Pastore, an infielder/pitcher, is awarded Freshman of the Year. The Shark finished the regular season with 41 hits in 105 at-bats, as well as 13 runs batted in and 11 stolen bases. Pastore's .357 batting average is second on his team and 10th in the league. The Tampa native also provided NSU with 37.0 innings on the mound across 12 appearances, in which he registered a 2.68 ERA, 1.08 WHIP, and 4-0 record. Pastore is the third NSU player to be named SSC Freshman of the Year3 and the first since 2011.

SSC baseball coaches award Coach of the Year to Josh Beauregard following Eckerd's 30-17 overall record and 19-11 conference record in 2019. Beauregard guided his alma mater to its first SSC championship in 38 years4, first NCAA tournament appearance in 32 years, and first 30-win season in 20 years5. He is the third Triton skipper to honored by the league and the first since 19996.

Repeat All-SSC selections are highlighted by two-time First Team selections Keven Pimentel of Tampa and Andy Marzheuser of Florida Tech. Pimentel repeats for a second consecutive year, while Marzheuser also collected First Team in 2017. McCollough, a three-time honoree, earns his First Team accolades in 2019 after Second Team honors in 2017 and 2018. Also moving up to the First Team from Second Team honors in 2018 are Andrew Rapoza of Barry University and Zach Howard of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University. Eckerd's Mitch Calandra bookends his career with All-SSC honors after being named Freshman of the Year in 2016 and First Team in 2019. Second Team honoree Samuel Duran from Nova Southeastern and honorable mention selection Nick DeTringo from Tampa were both honored as First Team a year ago.

Player of the Year: Yorvis Torrealba, Tampa
Pitcher of the Year: Dillon McCollough, Eckerd
Freshman of the Year: Duncan Pastore, Nova Southeastern
Coach of the Year: Josh Beauregard, Eckerd

2019 All-SSC Baseball First Team
1B Jacob Buser Florida Tech Sr. Staten Island, New York
2B Nick Conti^ Eckerd Sr. Orlando, Florida
3B Zach Scott Florida Southern Jr. Lakeland, Florida
SS Derek Gibree Saint Leo Sr. Largo, Florida
C Mitch Calandra Eckerd Sr. Floral Park, New York
DH Kirk Sidwell Embry-Riddle Sr. Windermere, Florida
OF Yorvis Torrealba Tampa Jr. Parkland, Florida
OF Andrew Rapoza* Barry Jr. New Bedford, Massachusetts
OF Garrett Hiott Eckerd Sr. Coconut Creek, Florida
OF Zach Howard* Embry-Riddle Sr. Land O'Lakes, Florida
UT Chris Cabrera Barry Jr. Miami, Florida
RP Tyler Beck Tampa Sr. South Bend, Indiana
SP Dillon McCollough*^ Eckerd Sr. Deltona, Florida
SP Keven Pimentel~ Tampa Sr. Huntington Station, New York
SP Garrett Goodall Embry-Riddle So. Nanaimo, British Columbia
SP Andy Marzheuser# Florida Tech Jr. Cincinnati, Ohio
2019 All-SSC Baseball Second Team
1B Alec Aleywine Tampa Jr. Panama City, Florida
2B Rodnie Bernard Florida Tech Jr. Tampa, Florida
3B Ian Acevedo Nova Southeastern Sr. Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
SS Chase Achuff Eckerd Sr. St. Petersburg, Florida
C Luis Olivier Embry-Riddle Jr. Altamonte Springs, Florida
DH Andrew Labosky Nova Southeastern Jr. Coral Springs, Florida
OF Brandon Seltzer Palm Beach Atlantic Jr. Staten Island, New York
OF Shayne Fontana Lynn Sr. Lebanon, New Jersey
OF Samuel Duran~ Nova Southeastern Sr. Melbourne, Florida
OF Bryan Diaz Nova Southeastern So. Miami Lakes, Florida
UT Duncan Pastore Nova Southeastern Fr. Tampa, Florida
RP Hugo Casilla Barry Sr. Miami, Florida
SP Jimmy Robbins Rollins So. Orlando, Florida
SP Mason Duke Tampa Sr. Hoover, Alabama
SP Mitchell Carroll Palm Beach Atlantic Sr. Coral Springs, Florida
SP McCabe Sargent Saint Leo So. Lake City, Florida
2019 All-SSC Baseball Honorable Menton
SS Nick DeTringo~ Tampa Sr. Ruskin, Florida
SP Devin Meyer Nova Southeastern Sr. Coral Springs, Florida

~ = 2018 All-SSC First Team
* = 2018 All-SSC Second Team
# = 2017 All-SSC First Team
^ = 2017 All-SSC Second Team
= 2016 Freshman of the Year