Yorvis Torrealba Earns D2CCA South Region Honors

Yorvis Torrealba Earns D2CCA South Region Honors

BOCA RATON, Fla. - The University of Tampa baseball team had four players named to the D2CCA All-South Region team, with Yorvis Torrealba being honored as the South Region Player of the Year.

Joining Torrealba as a first-team selection are starting pitcher Keven Pimentel and relief pitcher Tyler Beck. Fellow pitcher Mason Duke was named to the second team.

Torrealba, a junior from Parkland, Fla., was also named the 2019 SSC Player of the Year. The junior outfielder ranks at the top of the league in batting average (.417), slugging percentage (.697) and runs scored (55). He is also Top-5 in hits (73), stolen bases (19), on-base percentage (.502), doubles (14), and home runs (11). Against SSC pitching, he led the league batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging with a .426/.539/.689 slash line. Torrealba is the seventh Spartan to win Player of the Year honors and the first since 2010.

Pimentel, a senior from Huntington Station, N.Y., has an overall record of 10-2 as the Spartan ace. In 89.2 innings, he has registered 89 strikeouts for the Spartans with an ERA of 3.11. He has pitched 6-plus innings in 11 of his outings, recording a career-best 11 strikeouts in an SSC matchup with Rollins.

Beck, a senior from South Bend, Ind., leads UT with 10 saves. He also owns a 1.97 ERA. In 45.2 innings, he has punched out 60 opposing hitters. 

Duke, a senior from Hoover, Ala., is a perfect 9-0 on the season as the Alabama transfer also has a 2.51 ERA. 

The D2CCA awards are voted by Sports Information Directors. All first-team selections will now appear on the ballot for All-American honors.

2019 D2CCA Baseball All-South Region

First Team
C – Tyler Krabbe, University of Montevallo
1B – Blaine Crim, Mississippi College
2B – Jake Barlow, Delta State University
SS – DJ King, Valdosta State
3B – Miguel Pimentel, Lee University
OF – Yorvis Torrealba, University of Tampa
OF – Cade Marlowe, West Georgia
OF –Matt Sullivan, University of West Florida
DH –Kirk Sidwell, Embry-Riddle
UT (Player) – Alejandro Martinez, Lynn University
UT (Pitcher) – Duncan Pastore, Nova Southeastern
SP – Dillon McCollough, Eckerd College
SP – Keven Pimentel, University of Tampa
SP – Andrew Vaccacio, University of West Florida
SP – Hunter Riggins, Delta State University
RP – Tyler Beck, University of Tampa

South Region Player of the Year – Yorvis Torrealba, University of Tampa
South Region Pitcher of the Year – Dillon McCollough, Eckerd College

Second Team
C – Mitch Calandra, Eckerd College
1B – Logan Taylor, West Georgia
2B – Jowenrick Daantji, Valdosta State
SS – Daniel Rodriguez, Spring Hill College
3B – Josh Broughton, Valdosta State
OF – Matthew Estrada, University of West Florida
OF – Zach Howard, Embry-Riddle
OF – Christian Demby, Nova Southeastern
DH – Andrew Labosky, Nova Southeastern
UT (Player) – Chris Cabrera, Barry University
UT (Pitcher) – Chase Achuff, Eckerd College
SP – Andrew Marzheuser, Florida Tech
SP – Mason Duke, University of Tampa
SP – Tony Kucera, University of West Florida
SP – Garrett Goodall, Embry-Riddle
RP – Ryan Allain, Florida Tech
RP – Leo Rodriguez, Florida Southern College