Yorvis Torrealba Named Second-Team All-American

Yorvis Torrealba Named Second-Team All-American

MARSHALL, Minn. - The 2019 NCAA Division II Conference Commissioners Association released their 2019 All-America baseball team, and the University of Tampa was recognized through Yorvis Torrealba.

Torrealba, the NCBWA South Region Player of the Year, was named to the All-America second-team by the D2CCA. The SSC Player of the Year entered the postseason ranked atop the conference in batting average (.417), slugging percentage (.697) and runs scored (55). Additionally, he ranked in the Top-5 in hits (73), stolen bases (19), on-base percentage (.502), doubles (14), and home runs (11). Against SSC pitching, he led the league batting average, on-base percentage, and slugging with a .426/.539/.689 slash line. 

The junior outfielder drew a walk, with the bases-loaded, to clinch the Super Regional against No. 5 Delta State on May 25. For the third consecutive season, the Spartans have earned second-team All-America honors as David Lebron was last years' representative.  

The CCA All-America and All-Region baseball teams, which are selected by College Sports Information Directors of America (CoSIDA) members from schools playing Division II baseball, were first established in 2007. This is the fourth year in which the program is solely sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association.

Senior pitcher Joe Corbett from West Texas A&M University and junior outfielder Josh Elvir from Angelo State University (Texas), headline the D2CCA All-America baseball team, earning the Ron Lenz Pitcher and Player of the Year awards respectively. A total of 48 student-athletes were named to either the first, second or third team All-America squad while 16 were named honorable mention.

Joining Corbett and Elvir on the CCA All-America first team include John Michael Faile (C, North Greenville), Andrew Czech (1B, Walsh), Daulton Martin (2B, Tusculum), Jared Melone (3B, West Chester), Utah Jones (SS, North Greenville), Cole Kleszcz (OF, Azusa Pacific), Erik Webb (OF, Central Missouri), Jake Engel (DH, Dixie State), Eddie Nevins (utility non-pitcher, Wilmington), Cam Kline (utility pitcher, Minnesota State), Hunter Brown (SP, Wayne State (Mich.), Tucker Burgess (SP, North Greenville), Dillon McCollough (SP, Eckerd) and Will Dixon (RP, Colorado Mesa).

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.


Tampa will begin the hunt for their eighth national title on Sunday, June 2 at 7:00 p.m., as the Spartans face off against No. 19 Mercyhurst in Cary, N.C.


UT also offers a free text messaging service that sends text alerts following all Spartan events. To sign up, please register at www.tampaspartans.com.


A free app is also available for free download through Apple and Google Play stores. Please search for Tampa Spartans Front Row.