Fredinho Mompremier Garners All-American Honors

Fredinho Mompremier Garners All-American Honors

EAST STROUDSBURG, Pa. - University of Tampa men's soccer player Fredinho Mompremier was among the honorees as the Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) announced its NCAA Division II award winners.

Mompremier, a sophomore midfielder from Limbe, Haiti, was an honorable mention All-American. Mompremier finished the 2016 season as a first-team all-Sunshine State Conference and first-team all-South Region selection.

He led all Spartans with 13 goals on the year, including six that were game-winners. He also added four assists while finishing the year with a team-leading 30 points.

Mompremier scored a goal in each of Tampa's NCAA South Regional matches, as a main player on UT's South Region championship team. Among his top performances during 2016 was a two-goal effort against No. 8 Barry that included the game winner.

Senior forward Nathan Regis of Pfeiffer University (N.C.) headlines the 2016 D2CCA list the repeat selection for Ron Lenz National Player of the Year.

Regis, of Arima, Trinidad & Tobago, leads NCAA Division II in points (58) and ranks second in goals (24) after leading the nation in both categories with 32 goals and 71 points on Pfeiffer's 2015 national championship team. He is the second multiple-time selection as National Player of the Year and the first to do so in consecutive years.

This marks the 11th year that teams have been selected since the program began in 2006. Thirteen players were selected to the first team - four forwards, four midfielders, four backs and one goalkeeper.

Three of the four teams competing in the NCAA Division II Final Four this weekend in Kansas City, Mo. are represented on the first team in Charleston (W.Va.), UC San Diego and Wingate (N.C.).

Rockhurst (Mo.) has a representative on the third team. Wingate faces UC San Diego and Rockhurst takes on Charleston in the semifinals Thursday, with the championship game slated for Saturday at 1 p.m.

A total of 39 student-athletes were recognized on the three All-America teams, with an additional 16 earning honorable mention. Twenty-three schools are represented on the first three teams.

Sports information directors from NCAA Division II schools and conferences sponsoring men's soccer selected the D2CCA All-America teams. The process begins at the regional level with all first team All-Region picks advancing to the national ballot.

Regional Athletes of the Year, announced two weeks ago, were sophomore forward Charlie Ledula of LIU Post (East), Leonardo Paiva (Atlantic), Jack Watson (South), Nathan Regis (Southeast), Andre Landell (Midwest), Xhovani Dokaj (Central), Roy Abergil (South Central) and Adam Jones (West).

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiateathletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

2016 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Men's Soccer All-America

First Team
Pos. Name School Class Hometown
GK Cameron McElfresh UC San Diego Sr. Palo Alto, Calif.
F Roy Abergil Colorado Mesa Sr. Beercheeva, Israel
F Leonardo Paiva % Notre Dame (Ohio) Jr. Vitoria, Brazil
F * Nathan Regis $# Pfeiffer (N.C.) Sr. Arima, Trinidad & Tobago
F Will Roberts $# Charleston (W.Va.) Jr. Denbigh, Wales
M Esteban Berumen Notre Dame de Namur (Calif.) Jr. Pittsburg, Calif.
M Patrick Guier Charleston (W.Va.) So. Aachen, Germany
M Adam Jones Simon Fraser (B.C.) Jr. Coquitlam, British Columbia
M Harry Pearse LIU Post (N.Y.) Jr. London, England
B David Arvidsson LIU Post (N.Y.) Jr. Gotenburg, Sweden
B Ty Mobley St. Edward's (Texas) Jr. Deer Park, Texas
B Alex Nelson Wingate (N.C.) Sr. Newcastle, England
B Alejandro Penzini Adelphi (N.Y.) Sr. Caracas, Venezuela

* Ron Lenz National Player of the Year
$ 2015 1st team
% 2015 3rd team
# 2014 3rd team

Second Team
GK Spenser Powell Adelphi (N.Y.) Sr. Attleboro, Mass.
F Thom Derks Mercyhurst (Pa.) Sr. Horst, Netherlands
F Charlie Ledula LIU Post (N.Y.) So. London, England
F Jaime Siaj Pfeiffer (N.C.) Sr. Madrid, Spain
F Jack Watson ^ Lynn (Fla.) Jr. Dublin, Ireland
M Hanno Antoni Barry (Fla.) Jr. Mannheim, Germany
M Joey Chica Cal State Dominguez Hills Jr. Visalia, Calif.
M Martim Galvao $ Pfeiffer (N.C.) Sr. Lisbon, Portugal
M Luis Morales St. Thomas Aquinas (N.Y.) So. Port Chester, N.Y.
B Magnus Kristensen Simon Fraser (B.C.) Jr. Stavanger, Norway
B Grant Mobley St. Edward's (Texas) Jr. Deer Park, Texas
B Bruno Oliveira Charleston (W.Va.) Sr. Brasilia, Brazil
B Kuba Waligorski UC San Diego Sr. Szczecin, Poland

$ 2015 1st team
^ 2014 1st team

Third Team
GK Kevin Leib St. Edward's (Texas) Sr. Dallas, Texas
F Xhovani Dokaj & Lindenwood (Mo.) Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
F Sven Koenig Hawaii Pacific So. Schuerte, Germany
F Andre Landell Tiffin (Ohio) Sr. Birmingham, England
F Hamza Mourchid Gannon (Pa.) Sr. Hombourg-Haut, France
M Jacob Blixt Franklin Pierce (N.H.) Fr. Borrby, Sweden
M Gabriel Cavalcante Midwestern State (Texas) Sr. Curitiba, Brazil
M Federico De Oliveira Adelphi (N.Y.) Jr. Kenilworth, N.J.
M Aksel Juul Wingate (N.C.) Sr. Newcastle, England
B Damian Gaona Wingate (N.C.) Jr. Santiago, Chile
B Connor Mullen Rockhurst (Mo.) Sr. St. Louis, Mo.
B Dani Siaj Pfeiffer (N.C.) Sr. Madrid, Spain
B Emil Thomsen Adelphi (N.Y.) Sr. Vaerlose, Denmark

& 2014 2nd team

Honorable Mention
GK Pablo Jara Wingate (N.C.) So. Santiago, Chile
F Vicente Castillo Oklahoma Baptist Sr. Peralta, Spain
F Jorge Chedraui Fresno Pacific (Calif.) Sr. Guayaquil, Ecuador
F Thomas Coombes Barry (Fla.) Sr. Newcastle, England
F Kaleb Jackson Rockhurst (Mo.) Jr. St. Louis, Mo.
F Fredinho Mompremier Tampa (Fla.) So. Limbe, Haiti
F David Perez Lee (Tenn.) Sr. Dalton, Ga.
F Matt Wilson Saginaw Valley State (Mich.) Jr. Huron Valley, Mich.
M Hermann Bjornsson Alabama Huntsville Sr. Hafnarfjordur, Iceland
M Gianluca Bottoni Rockhurst (Mo.) Sr. Rome, Italy
M Lucas Coutinho @ Palm Beach Atlantic (Fla.) Sr. Recife, Brazil
M Callum Ross Wingate (N.C.) Jr. Newcastle, England
B Bryan Baugh Dixie State (Utah) Jr. Henderson, Nev.
B Tyler Mouton Ouachita Baptist (Ark.) Jr. Flower Mound, Texas
B Luis Torres Fort Hays State (Kan.) So. Asuncion, Paraguay
B Jake Young # Charleston (W.Va.) Sr. Cambridge, England

@ 2015 2nd team
# 2014 3rd team

Ron Lenz National Player of the Year History
2006 - John Cunliffe (Fort Lewis)
2007 - Leandro Pereira (Lincoln Memorial)
2008 - Steven Beattie (Northern Kentucky)
2009 - Sam Charles (Montana State-Billings)
2010 - Steven Beattie (Northern Kentucky)
2011 - Mark Anderson (Barry)
2012 - Kenny Hogg (Palm Beach Atlantic)
2013 - Eivind Austboe (LIU Post)
2014 - Ilija Ilic (Young Harris)
2015 - Nathan Regis (Pfeiffer)
2016 - Nathan Regis (Pfeiffer)