UT Wins SSC’s First Women’s Swimming Title

UT Wins SSC’s First Women’s Swimming Title

Box score

ORLANDO, Fla. - In the first year of the Sunshine State Conference Swimming Championship, The University of Tampa women's swimming team captured the overall title while its men finished second.

The first ever SSC Championships were held at the Central Florida YMCA Aquatic Center. The event consisted of four days of competition between the five SSC schools that sponsor both men's and women's swimming.

In women's championship action, freshman Heather Glenday won a pair of SSC titles. She placed first in both the 500 Free (4:55.76) and 1,650 Free (17:05.04). Other Spartans who won titles were Caroline Belli (100 Back, 56.84), Lindsay Calimer (100 Fly, 56.38), Catherine Patrell (200 Fly, 2:06.53) and Kelsey Lubbers (400 IM, 4:26.89).

Tampa's women also won the gold in the 800 Free Relay. The team of Lubbers, Alexandria Greenhill, Kristine Kassl and Glenday won with a time of 7:38.79.

In men's action, Tampa's David Humphrey (100 Free, 45.34), Jeff Fiore (200 Free, 1:39.53) and Chris O'Linger (1,650 Free, 15:34.87) each won SSC titles. The 400 Free Relay team of Humphrey, Felipe Manzo, Brad Hines and Fiore also won in 3:02.00.

Tampa now advances to the NCAA Division II Championships, which is scheduled for Mar. 9-12 in San Antonio, Texas.

Fans may also follow University of Tampa athletics on Twitter (www.twitter.com/utspartans) and Facebook (www.facebook.com/tampaspartans). UT also offers blAst, a free text messaging service that sends text alerts following all Spartan events. To sign up, please register at www.tampaspartans.com.