UT Swimming Wraps Up SSC Championships With More Records

Box score

ORLANDO, Fla. - The Sunshine State Conference Swimming Championships have come to a close in the final day of action on Sunday.

Every day was full of record breaking action. The last day proved to be the same as the previous three. In the final day of competition, four SSC records fell, as well as, eight championship records.

UT freshman Brittany Bayes capped an amazing championship by taking the SSC championship in the 1,650 Free. The first-year collegiate swimmer narrowly missed out on being the annual SSC Swimmer of the Meet.

The Spartans also saw another new school record on the final day, coming with a time of 2:56.33 in the 400 Free Relay. The group of Khalid Aldaboos, Martin Hammer, Jordan Augier and Jeremy Parker are the new record holders.

The performances from today bring the aggregate totals to 20 SSC, and 29 meet records that have been broken in the four days of action. Also this year's SSC Championships set a record for breaking records in the SSC Championship. The icing on the cake for all of this is Anton Lobanov of Nova Southeastern also set two NCAA DII records. Lobantov set records in the Men's 100 Breaststroke and 200 Breaststroke. He posted a 52 second flat time in the 100 and a time of 1:53.49 in the 200.

At the end of the day, the final standings have been calculated, and your SSC Champion in Men's Swimming is Florida Southern, who racked up 800 points during the four days of action. Southern just edged out Nova, who finished in second with 791 points. Finishing third in the Men's standings was Tampa with 740 points. Your Women's SSC Champion is Nova Southeastern, who tallied 853.5 points overall. Nova coasted to victory as second place Florida Southern recorded 760.5 points. The third place finisher on the Women's side was Tampa who recorded 712 points. The SSC Swimmers of the Meet were Daniel Bis of Saint Leo, and Rebecca Matthews of Lynn. Below is a brief overview of the day's action.

Final Team Standings, Points
1 Nova Southeastern 853.50
2 Florida Southern 760.50
3 Tampa 712
4 Saint Leo 392
5 Lynn 343
6 Florida Tech 301
7 Rollins 238

1 Florida Southern 800
2 Nova Southeastern 791
3 Tampa 740
4 Saint Leo 516
5 Florida Tech 399
6 Rollins 150

Day four Preliminaries, Records broken:
Bryndis Hansen of nova Southeastern started the final day with a band as she set a new SC Championship record in the Women's 100 Freestyle. Hansen put a time of 49.65 with that performance she now holds the SSC overall record, as well as, the SSC Championship record. Following Hansen's performance fellow Shark Thiago Sickert bested his previous SSC overall record time in the Men's 100 Freestyle and set the new record at 43.53.

Day four Finals, Records broken:
Daniel Bis of Saint Leo started the finals in dramatic fashion by setting a new SSC Championship record in the Men's 1650 Freestyle with time of 15:26.72. The first of many Sharks to break records in the finals was Bryndis Hansen. Hansen set a new SSC Championship record in Women's 100 Freestyle with a time of 49.28. Thiago Sickert of Nova bests his time he set in prelims with 43.48 performance in the Men's 100 Freestyle final. Nova Southeastern's Courtney DeVeny set a new SSC Championship record in the Women's 200 Backstroke by posting a new time of 1:57.18. She dethrones Mary O'Sullivan of Florida Southern who set the record in 2011. Once again Lynn's Rebecca Matthews sets another SSC record this time in women's 200 Breaststroke posting a time of 2:13.28. Matthews replaces Nicole Webber of Saint Leo. Anton Lobanov of Nova Southeastern sets new SSC and NCAA record in the Men's 200 Breaststroke with time of 1:53.49. Nova Southeastern women set SSC Championship record in the 400 free relay with time of 3:24.71. Finishing off the SSC Championships putting the cherry on top was Nova Southeastern's Men who set a new SSC record in the 400 Freestyle relay with a time of 2:55.55.

Women's 100 Freestyle medalists:
1 Hansen, Bryndis FR Nova (49.28)
2 Garriock, Natalia FR Saint Leo (50.58)
3 Gouge, Kelsey JR Southern (50.78)

Women's 200 Backstroke medalists:
1 DeVeny, Courtney FR Nova (1:57.18)
2 Reynolds, Lauren JR Southern (2:00.71)
3 Wahlstrom, Emma SO Nova (2:01.43)

Women's 200 Breaststroke medalists:
1 Matthews, Rebecca JR Lynn (2:13.28)
2 Westman, Malin FR Nova (2:14.46)
3 Weber, Nicole SO Saint Leo (2:17.07)

Women's 1650 Freestyle medalists:
1 Brittany Bayes, FR Tampa (16:59.29)
2 Crenshaw, Alli JR Southern (17:07.97)
3 Burns, Heather JR Southern (17:14.36)

Women's 400 Freetyle relay medalists:
1 Nova Southeastern (3.24.71)
2 Tampa (3:25.78)
3 Saint Leo (3:27.83)

Men's 100 Freestyle Medalists:
1 Sickert, Thiago SO Nova (43.48)
2 Jeremy Parker, JR Tampa (44.25)
3 Martin Hammer, SO Tampa (44.63)

Men's 200 Backstroke medalists:
1 Palacios, Marc SO Southern (1:45.66)
2 Trenda, Pawel JR Saint Leo (1:45.83)
3 Rojas, Luis SR Southern (1:46.80)

Men's 200 Breaststroke medalists:
1 Lobanov, Anton FR Nova (1:53.49)
2 Jasso, Luis FR Southern (1:58.85)
3 Lake, Dylan SR Southern (2:01.16)

Men's 1650 Freestyle medalists:
1 Bis, Daniel FR Saint Leo (15:26.72)
2 Tolosa, Juan JR Southern (15:31.65)
3 Woodrow, Blake FR Nova (15:31.87)

Men's 400 Freestyle relay medalists:
1 Nova Southeastern (2:55.55)
2 Tampa (2:56.33)
3 Florida Southern (3:00.25)

For a look at the full results please visit: http://fastswimresults.com/realtime_results/

All of the SSC Swimming Championship's action from the YMCA Aquatics Center is available for viewing on. A full comprehensive list of the action can be found here: http://www.sunshinestateconference.com/article.asp?articleID=3086

The NCAA Men's and Women's Swimming & Diving Championships will be held March 10-14. This Championships will take place in Indianapolis, IND. For more information on the event please visit: http://www.ncaa.com/sports/swimming-men/d2

Make sure you follow the SSC on Twitter (@D2SSC), Instagram (@D2SSC), and Facebook (/SunshineStateConference) to keep up with this year's action and championships!