Trevor Kattenberg Named First-Team All-SSC

Trevor Kattenberg Named First-Team All-SSC

MELBOURNE, Fla. – Fourteen student-athletes have been selected to the 2018 All-Sunshine State Conference Men's Cross Country Teams. The University of Tampa had two-all-conference selections while Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University boasts nine awards, including Runner, Freshman, and Coach of the Year.

Trevor Kattenberg, who finished fifth overall at the 2018 SSC Championships, was honored as a first-team selection as a sophomore. Tyler Roberts earned a spot on the second team. He previously finished eighth at the league championships.

Runner, Freshman, and Coach of the Year awards are voted upon by league coaches, while  runners who finish Top-14 at the 2018 SSC Men's Cross Country Championship earn All-SSC status. This year's championship was hosted by Rollins College and took place on November 3rd on the campus of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University in Daytona Beach.

Shaun Bullock of Embry-Riddle is named SSC Men's Runner of the Year. The Downington, Pennsylvania native is first ERAU male student-athlete to win the top individual award in an SSC sponsored sport. The sophomore finished first out of 93 conference runners to claim the 2018 SSC championship. Bullock's time of 25:24.00 was 16.94 seconds faster than teammate Lelei Too.

Mike Rosolino is selected Coach of the Year by his peers. It is the first men's coach of the year award for the university. Under Rosolino's leadership, the Eagles captured the schools first men's conference championship in an SSC sponsored sport. Embry-Riddle finished first through third, then ninth and eleventh to capture the 2018 crown. The Eagles are the the first program to finish 1-2-3 at the SSC championship since 20151.

Embry Riddle's Ryan Szklany is named Freshman of the Year. The Lighthouse Point, Florida product finished Top-10 in all five of his races this season, including a ninth place finish at the SSC championship. He is the first male student-athlete from ERAU to be named Freshman of the Year in an SSC sponsored sport.

Dean McGregor of Florida Southern College repeats as an All-SSC selection for a third year, while teammate Mason Jones repeats from 2017. Both McGregor (2015) and Jones (2017) were named Freshman of the Year during their careers. ERAU's Calahan Warren also repeats as an All-SSC performer.

Runner of the Year: Shaun Bullock, Embry-Riddle
Coach of the Year: Mike Rosolino, Embry-Riddle
Freshman of the Year: Ryan Szklany, Embry-Riddle

SSC Championship / All-SSC History | Runners / Coaches of the Year

SSC Finish First Team School Yr. Hometown
1 Shaun Bullock Embry-Riddle So. Downingtown, Pa.
2 Lelei Too Embry-Riddle Fr. Mosoriot, Kenya
3 Calahan Warren* Embry-Riddle Jr. Auburndale, Fla.
4 Mason Jones^# Florida Southern So. Titusville, Fla.
5 Trevor Kattenberg Tampa So. Satellite Beach, Fla.
6 Joshua Wagner Florida Southern So. Marco Island, Fla.
7 Dean McGregor^~% Florida Southern Sr. Fort Myers, Fla.
SSC Finish Second Team School Yr. Hometown
8 Tyler Roberts Tampa Jr. Melbourne, Fla.
9 Ryan Szklany Embry-Riddle Fr. Lighthouse Point, Fla.
10 Tadgh McGinty Saint Leo So. Swinford, Ireland
11 Paul McKenna Embry-Riddle Sr. Clearwater, Fla.
12 Hunter Dobbs Lynn Fr. Miami, Fla.
13 Mitchell Kozik Florida Southern So. Wadsworth, Ohio
14 Paris Williams Embry-Riddle So. Odessa, Fla.












^ =2017 First Team All-SSC Selection
*  = 2017 Second Team All-SSC Selection
# = 2017 Freshman of the Year
~ = 2016 All-SSC Selection
% = 2015 Freshman of the Year

1Valntine Lenz, Rafal Matuszczak, and Niclas Bez of Saint Leo