Makaleigh Dooley Named to D2CCA All-South Region First Team

Makaleigh Dooley Named to D2CCA All-South Region First Team

HUNTSVILLE, Ala. - The 2019 Division II Conference Commissioners Association Softball All-South Region Teams were announced this afternoon, as the University of Tampa softball team was represented by Makaleigh Dooley who earned First Team honors.

Dooley made 35 appearances and threw 27 complete games for Tampa in the 2019 regular season. The senior sported a 26-7 record for the Spartans with 222.1 innings pitched. Dooley, a native of Tampa, led the conference in wins (26), batters struck out (214), batters struck out looking (57), and lowest qualified walks allowed (14). She was second in earned run average (1.16), innings pitched (222.1), and opponent batting average (.181). The senior remains the fourth Spartan to earn Pitcher of the Year and is the eighth SSC athlete to win it twice.

The Sunshine State Conference had three other athletes named to the First Team; C Lindsey Gehring (Rollins), 2B Suka Van Gurp (Nova Southeastern), and RHP Melanie Murphy (Florida Tech). In total, the Gulf South Conference placed 15 players on the two teams, including 10 of 14 First Team selections. 

No. 2 West Florida, the host for the DII South Regional, leads all teams with five selections. Additionally, UWF earned All-South Region Player of the Year, Rhiannion Sassman, as well as Pitcher of the Year, Kelsey Sweatt.

The Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.

Player of the Year - Rhiannon Sassman, West Florida

Pitcher of the Year - Kelsey Sweatt, West Florida


First Team

C -Lindsay Gehring, Rollins

1B - Haley Barnette, Union

2B - Suka Van Gurp, Nova Southeastern

SS - Kaitlyn Kelley, Union

3B - Rhiannon Sassman, West Florida

OF - Amber Hammonds, UAH

OF - Ashley Cornell, UAH

OF - Haley Garrett, Valdosta State

DP - Kathleen Smiley, West Florida

UT - Teala Howard, West Florida

UT/P - Kiara Akles, UAH

P - Kelsey Sweatt, West Florida

P - Makaleigh Dooley, Tampa

P -Melanie Murphy, Florida Tech


Second Team

C -Carly Crawford, Mississippi College

1B - Mariana Perira, Embry-Riddle

2B - Morgan Bradford, Mississippi College

SS - Kacie Kelly, Saint Leo

3B - Starkeira Daniel, Benedict

OF - Jordan Davis, Rollins

OF - Magnolia West, Palm Beach Atlantic

OF - Courtney McLellan, West Florida

DP - Jessica Trana, Florida Southern

UT - Jaden Kline, Florida Tech

UT/P - Nikole Van Gennep, Eckerd

P - Cori Cooper, Mississippi College

P - Miriam Schmoll, Nova Southeastern

P -Caylie Van Auken, Valdosta State