Spartans Suspended in Extra Innings

Spartans Suspended in Extra Innings

PENSACOLA, Fla. - The University of Tampa softball team kicked off the 2019 NCAA South Regional on Thursday afternoon. After multiple delays, the NCAA suspended the game until tomorrow morning (Friday, May 10) at 11:00 a.m. (EST) / 10:00 a.m. (CST).

The Spartans are leading 1-0 in the bottom of the ninth inning as Bailey Phillips used an inside-out swing and doubled to right-centerfield to push Tampa ahead by one run. Makaleigh Dooley logged eight strikeouts in eight innings in the circle. Maddie Farrell registered two doubles and a walk in four plate appearances. 

If the Spartans hold onto win, they will begin the second round at 2:00 p.m. (EST) 1:00 p.m. (CST). Stay tuned for more updates or follow @Tampa_Softball on Twitter