WGCA Names Kiira Riihijarvi All-American

WGCA Names Kiira Riihijarvi All-American

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – The Women's Golf Coaches Association has announced the 2016-17 student-athlete and coaches awards for Division II Women's Collegiate Golf. University of Tampa freshman Kiira Riihijarvi was named a second-team All-American.

Riihijarvi becomes the first-ever golfer in program history to become an All-American. She was also the first player to advance to the NCAA tournament, where she won the NCAA South Super Regional. In the final round of the regional, Riihijarvi shot a school-record 70.

At the 2017 NCAA Championships, Riihijarvi continued her excellent play as she finished ninth overall against the best players in NCAA Division II. At the championships, she shot a 77 in each of the first two rounds. After carding a 78 in round three, Riihijarvi closed the tournament with her best round of 75. She finished ninth with a total score of 307.

For further information regarding these awards including selection criteria, please visit www.wgcagolf.com.

The Women's Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent. 

PING WGCA Division II Player of the Year
Marie Coors, Saint Leo University

WGCA Division II Freshman of the Year
Charlotte Puts, Barry University

WGCA Division II Kim Moore Spirit Award
Mikayla Johnson, Malone University

Division II Golf Pride WGCA National Coach of the Year
Shannon Sykora, Barry University

Division II Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year

South Region Coach of the Year: Shannon Sykora, Barry University
Central Region Coach of the Year: Amy Anderson, Arkansas Tech University
East Region Coach of the Year: Brent Nicoson, University of Indianapolis
West Region Coach of the Year: Kenny Trapp, Dallas Baptist University

WGCA Division II All-American Teams
First Team
Franziska Bremm, Sophomore, University of West Georgia
Marie Coors, Senior, Saint Leo University
Pilar Echeverria, Freshman, University of Indianapolis
Sarah Kim, Senior, Dallas Baptist University
Tilda Larsson, Sophomore, Barry University
Brittany LaPadula, Senior, Florida Institute of Technology
Ann Parmerter, Sophomore, Dallas Baptist University
Charlotte Puts, Freshman, Barry University
Casey Wild, Junior, Tarleton State University
Elaine Wood, Senior, University of Montevallo

Second Team
Arin Eddy, Senior, University of Montevallo
Hanna Harrison, Freshman, Dallas Baptist University
Abbey Hartsell, Sophomore Lenoir Rhyne University
Katharina Keilich, Sophomore, University of Indianapolis
Lauren Lamm, Senior, University of West Florida
Paola Ortiz, Sophomore, Florida Institute of Technology
Guro Rambjoer, Senior, Florida Institute of Technology
Kiira Riihijarvi, Freshman, University of Tampa
Michelle Ruiz, Junior, Nova Southeastern University
Paloma Vaccaro, Junior, University of West Florida 

Honorable Mention
Seher Atwal, Freshman, Rollins College
Gloria Choi, Sophomore, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Annika Haynes, Junior, University of Indianapolis
Amanda Jakobsson, Junior, Saint Leo University
Caroline Moore, Redshirt Junior, Lee University
Marvi Monsalve, Senior, California Baptist University
Noemie Pare, Freshman, Barry University
Maria Regina Gonzalez, Sophomore, St. Mary's University (Texas)
Johany Rivera, Junior, St. Edward's University
Emma Thorngren, Freshman, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Lexie Toth, Junior, Rollins College
Shelby Warner, Senior, University of Findlay
Mary Weinstein, Freshman, Regis University
Holly Winter, Freshman, West Texas A&M University