WGCA Names Kiira Riihijarvi to All-Region Team

WGCA Names Kiira Riihijarvi to All-Region Team

CORAL SPRINGS, Fla. – The Women's Golf Coaches Association (WGCA) has announced the 2018-19 student-athlete and coaches regional awards for Division II Women's Collegiate Golf, as well as the recipient of the Division II Kim Moore Spirit Award. University of Tampa standout Kiira Riihijarvi was honored as a member of the South Region team.

Riihijarvi, a junior from Oulu, Finland, is the 2019 Sunshine State Conference champion and recently concluded play at the NCAA South Regional. Currently ranked as the number two player in NCAA Division II, Riihijarvi won four tournaments in 2018-19 while averaging 74.27 strokes per round. Also named the SSC Player of the Year as a junior, she is a two-time All-American and lone selection in program history.

For further information regarding these awards including selection criteria, please visit www.wgcagolf.com.

The Women's Golf Coaches Association, founded in 1983, is a non-profit organization representing women's collegiate golf coaches. The WGCA was formed to encourage the playing of college golf for women in correlation with a general objective of education and in accordance with the highest tradition of intercollegiate competition. Today, the WGCA represents over 600 coaches throughout the U.S. and is dedicated to educating, promoting and recognizing both its members and the student-athletes they represent.  

WGCA Division II Kim Moore Spirit Award
Taylor Hayes, Carson-Newman University

Division II Golf Pride Regional Coaches of the Year
South Region Coach of the Year: Marcelo Huarte, Lynn University
Central Region Coach of the Year: Amy Anderson, Arkansas Tech University
East Region Coach of the Year: Dominic Guarnieri, University of Findlay
West Region Coach of the Year: Kenny Trapp, Dallas Baptist University

WGCA Division II All-Region Teams

Central Region
Gloria Choi, Southwestern Oklahoma State University
Aitana Hernandez, Northeastern State University
Jacqueline Klemm, Arkansas Tech University
Ebba Moberg, Northeastern State University
Pia Nunbhakdi, Arkansas Tech University
Shi Qing Ong, Missouri Western State University
Peerada Piddon, Arkansas Tech University
Sydney Roberts, University of Central Oklahoma
Olivia Sobaski, University of Central Missouri
Sydney Staton, Arkansas Tech University

South Region
Seher Atwal, Rollins College
Josefina Foa Torres, Barry University
Sofia Garcia Austt, Nova Southeastern University
Amanda Gartrell, Florida Southern College
Helen Kreuzer, Lynn University
Tilda Larsson, Barry University
Synne Lauritzen, Saint Leo University
Kristina Ortiz, Lynn University
Kiira Riihijarvi, University of Tampa
Matilda Wahren, Lynn University

West Region
Evelyn Arguelles, Dallas Baptist University
Megan DaLeo, Sonoma State University
Maria Regina Gonzalez, St. Mary's University (Texas)
Hanna Harrison, Dallas Baptist University
Claire Hogle, California State University San Marcos
Jaime Jacob, California State University San Marcos
Ann Parmerter, Dallas Baptist University
Sofia Ruescas, St. Mary's University (Texas)
Anahi Servin, Academy of Art University
Loukyee Songprasert, West Texas A&M University

East Region
Katie Chipman, Grand Valley State University
Pilar Echeverria, University of Indianapolis
Samantha Hatter, University of Findlay
Cailyn Henderson, University of Indianapolis
Kennedy Holtsclaw, University of Indianapolis
Katharina Keilich, University of Indianapolis
Kristina Kniesly, University of Findlay
Krystal Knight, Merrimack College
Emma Thorngren, University of Missouri-St. Louis
Makenzie Torres, University of Findlay
Meredith Wipper, University of Findlay