Three Spartans Named to All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team

Three Spartans Named to All-Sunshine State Conference Second Team

MELBOURNE, Fla. – Twenty-nine women's lacrosse student-athletes are recognized as All-SSC in the third year of Sunshine State Conference women's lacrosse. Florida Southern College, SSC Regular Season Champion, boasts nine All-SSC awards.

Voting for the All-SSC Women's Lacrosse Team was conducted among the league's head coaches. Emily Santoli of Florida Southern College was selected Player of the Year. Lauren Tybor of Florida Tech earns Freshman of the Year accolades. Corinne Desrosiers of Florida Tech was named Coach of the Year.

Santoli started all 16 games for the Florida Southern Moccasins in 2017. The midfielder tallied 50 points (34 goals / 16 assists) with a .486 shooting percentage. The Fort Salonga, New York native ranks Top-10 in the conference for Ground Balls per Game, Caused Turnovers per Game, Draw Controls per Game, Goals per Game, Assists per Game, Points per Game, and Shots per Game.

All-SSC History: SSC Players and Coaches of the Year | All-SSC Teams

Tybor scored 16 goals for the Florida Tech Panthers in 14 games during her 2017 campaign. The Jacksonville, Florida native also provided FIT with 31 ground balls, 27 draw controls, 23 caused turnovers, and six assists.

Desrosiers has been named Coach of the Year for a second consecutive season. Under her leadership, Florida Tech improved its overall record (12-2), SSC record (3-1), and conference tournament seeding (No. 2 seed) from last season. Desrosiers holds an overall record of 29-18 in her three years at Florida Tech.

Florida Tech's Allie Modica and Sara Grenier earn first team accolades for the third consecutive year. The pair are the first SSC women's lacrosse athletes to reach that achievement. Santoli, Meghan O'Brien (Florida Southern), Kallie German (Rollins), Lindsey Van Beck (Rollins), Maddie Hendren (Rollins), and Stephanie Stewart (Florida Tech) all repeat as first team members.

Kendall Kerge (Florida Southern) and Mary Gormley (Florida Tech) move up to the first team following two consecutive years on the second team. Player of the Year: Emily Santoli, Florida Southern Freshman of the Year: Lauren Tybor, Florida Tech Coach of the Year: Corinne Desrosiers, Florida Tech 

Tampa's Amanda Rom was named to the all-SSC second team along with Abby Coccagna and Claire Swanson. This season Rom hit the 100-point mark, the second Spartan to do this in school history. She leads the sqaud in assists with 35 on the season so far. Sophomore, Coccagna has a team high 20 caused turnovers with 24 groundballs. Swanson leads the Spartan freshman class in goals with 20 thus far. Tampa has earned its second straight berth to the Sunshine State Conference Tournament.

Player of the Year: Emily Santoli, Florida Southern
Freshman of the Year: Lauren Tybor, Florida Tech
Coach of the Year: Corinne Desrosiers, Florida Tech

2017 Women's Lacrosse All-SSC First Team
Sara Grenier*~ Attack Florida Tech Jr. Oakland, Maine
Meghan O'Brien* Attack Florida Southern Jr. Rocherster, N.Y.
Kallie German*@ Attack Rollins So. Centreville, Md.
Kendall Kerge^+ Attack Florida Southern Sr. Edgewater, Md.
Caroline Dunleavy^ Attack Florida Tech Jr. Annapolis, Md.
Lindsey Van Beck* Defense Rollins So. Atlanta, Ga.
Meghan Vadala Defense Florida Southern Jr. Rocherster, N.Y.
Olivia Going Defense Florida Tech Fr. West Islip, N.Y.
Maddie Hendren* Defense Rollins Jr. Wekiva Springs, Fla.
Parrisa Sakinejad Defense Florida Southern Jr. Millers, Md.
Stephanie Stuart* Goalie Florida Tech Jr Palm Coast, Fla.
Allie Modica*~# Midfield Florida Tech Sr. Vero Beach, Fla.
Emily Santoli*+ Midfield Florida Southern Jr. Fort Salonga, N.Y.
Mary Gormley^+ Midfield Florida Tech Jr. Denver, Colo.
Dani Bursinger Midfield Florida Southern So. Powell, Oh 

2017 Women's Lacrosse All-SSC Second Team
Maggie Dougherty Attack Rollins Fr. New Hope, Pa.
Hannah Ashton Attack Rollins Fr. Berwyn, Pa.
Amanda Rom+ Attack Tampa Jr. Medina, Oh.
Haley Heggblod+ Defense Florida Tech Jr. St. Augustine, Fla.
Amanda Coppolo+ Defense Saint Leo Jr. Guilderland, N.Y
Abby Coccagna Defense Tampa So. Baltimore, Md.
Austin Brown Defense Florida Southern Sr. Indian Trail, N.C.
Taylor Gillis^ Goalie Florida Southern Sr. Bel Air, Md.
Malorie Olin*^& Goalie Rollins Jr Skaneateles, N.Y.
Kelsey Burns^+ Midfield Saint Leo Sr. Colts Neck, N.J.
Sam Schiano* Midfield Florida Tech So. Perry Hall, Md.
Claire Swanson Midfield Tampa Fr. Cheyenne, Wyo.
Lauren Tybor Midfield Florida Tech Fr. Jacksonville, Fla.
Lily Rizk Midfield Rollins Fr. Stevensville, Md.

* = 2016 First Team
^ = 2016 Second Team
# = 2016 Player of the Year
@ = 2016 Freshman of the Year
~ = 2015 First Team
+ = 2015 Second Team
& = 2015 Freshman of the Year