Spartans Set To Compete In NCAA Championships

Spartans Set To Compete In NCAA Championships

CANTON, Ohio - The University of Tampa men's and women's swimming teams are set to compete in the 2010 NCAA Division II Championships, which are set to begin on Wednesday. The event will last through Saturday and will take place at the C.T. Branin Natatorium in Canton, Ohio.

Both teams competed in the 2009 championships with the UT men earning an eighth place finish while its women were 12th. UT garnered 14 All-American selections, marking the most since 2005.

The Spartan women are looking to continue its momentum from the Bluegrass Mountain Conference Championships, where the squad captured its second consecutive title. Jessie Bardin was named the BGMC Female Swimmer of the Year. UT's men were second in the conference.

Bardin will lead a group of 11 Spartan women to competition. Joining the three-time All-American are Stephanie Branham, Lindsay Calimer, Ellie Eshleman, Hannah Hudson, Kristine Kassl, Kelsey Lubbers, Emilee Margiotta, Amy O'Brien, Allison Vetter and Michelle Walcker.

Tampa's men will also send 11 swimmers, including Roman Dagesh, Jeff Fiore, Tyler Furrer, David Humphrey, Kevin Kelley, Frank Kuchta, Felipe Manzo, Patrick Murray, Chris O'Linger, Roman Sereda and Michael Verdi.

Click here for the official NCAA Division II Swimming and Diving Championships web page

Fans may follow University of Tampa athletics on Twitter ( and Facebook ( UT also offers eScores, a free text messaging service that sends text alerts following all Spartan events. To sign up, please register at