Spartan Swimmers Set to Compete at 2013 NCAA Championships

BIRMINGHAM, Ala. - The University of Tampa men's and women's swimming teams will compete at the 2013 NCAA Division II Swimming & Diving Championships, which is set to begin Wednesday in Birmingham, Ala.

The Spartans have a total of 17 men and women competing at the event, marking the 21st consecutive year that UT has participated in the annual event.

In 2012, then Spartan women were fourth in the nation, marking the best finish since 1988 when head coach Ed Brennan's UT squad was the national runner-up. Tampa also earned a trophy, which was awarded to the top-four teams.

Tampa's men finished at No. 13 at the 2012 event. Tampa had a total of 13 All-Americans at the 2012 race, as a top-eight performance earns an individual the honor of All-American.

UT's women are coming off a first-place finish at the 2013 Sunshine State Conference Championships, marking the second title in three years. The men were third at the event, and have enjoyed success throughout the 2012-13 season as champions of the Nova Southeastern Invitational.

Following is a list of UT swimmers who will compete at the 2013 NCAA Championships

Heather Glenday
Alexandria Greenhill
Alex Hipolito
Kristine Kassl
Amy O'Brien
Catherine Parker
Kylie Piche
Erin Plachy

Khalid Aldaboos
Karl Burdis
Kevin Doran
Zane Hranac
David Humphrey
Norbert Kovacs
Derek Krell
Felipe Manzo
Joshua Werner