Tampa Men’s Swimming Places Four on All-SSC Team

Tampa Men’s Swimming Places Four on All-SSC Team

ORLANDO, Fla. - Norbert Kovacs led a group of four University of Tampa men's swimmers to be named to the 2013 All-Sunshine State Conference Team, which was announced Thursday.

Kovacs was the lone UT swimmer on the first team as teammates Karl Burdis, Zane Hranac and Joshua Werner found a spot on the second team.

Florida Southern's Jeb Halfacre and Nova Southeastern's Oskar Nordstrand were named Co-Swimmers of the Year. Saint Leo's Pawel Trenda was selected Freshman of the Year, and FSC's Duncan Sherrard was tabbed Coach of the Year.

Voting for the SSC Swimmer, Freshman, and Coach of the Year was recently conducted among the league's swimming coaches. The All-SSC Men's Swimming Team was determined by individual points accumulated at the SSC Swimming Championship, which was conducted Feb. 13-16 at the Long Center in Clearwater, Fla. The top eight swimmers, based on points, were named All-SSC First Team, and the next eight swimmers were named All-SSC Second Team.

Earning All-SSC First Team recognition were: Matheus Assis (Saint Leo), Oskar Nordstrand (Nova Southeastern), Jeb Halfacre (Florida Southern), Luis Rojas (Florida Southern), Kovacs (Tampa), Miguel Ferreira (Florida Southern), Juan Tolosa (Florida Southern), and Oscar Aldabe (Nova Southeastern).

Named to the All-SSC Second Team were: Allan Gutierrez (Florida Southern), Pawel Trenda (Saint Leo), Florian Mehlan (Nova Southeastern), Cameron Chambers (Nova Southeastern), Hranac (Tampa), Burdis (Tampa), Werner (Tampa), and Robbie Swan (Florida Southern).

Matheus Assis, Saint Leo, Freshman
Oskar Nordstrand, Nova Southeastern, Senior
Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern, Senior
Luis Rojas, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Norbert Kovacs, Tampa, Senior
Miguel Ferreira, Florida Southern, Senior
Juan Tolosa, Florida Southern, Freshman
Oscar Aldabe, Nova Southeastern, Junior

Co-Swimmer of the Year - Jeb Halfacre, Florida Southern
Co-Swimmer of the Year - Oskar Nordstrand, Nova Southeastern
Freshman of the Year - Pawel Trenda, Saint Leo
Coach of the Year - Duncan Sherrard, Florida Southern

Allan Gutierrez, Florida Southern, Sophomore
Pawel Trenda, Saint Leo, Freshman
Florian Mehlan, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Cameron Chambers, Nova Southeastern, Junior
Zane Hranac, Tampa, Sophomore
Karl Burdis, Tampa, Junior
Joshua Werner, Tampa, Sophomore
Robbie Swan, Florida Southern, Junior