McKiel and Houghton Named to All-Region Teams

McKiel and Houghton Named to All-Region Teams

WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - The D2CCA All-South Region Teams were announced on Wednesday with Florida Southern's Nicole Mattson taking home Player of the Year honors. Mattson was previously named the Sunshine State Conference Player of the Year. Two Spartans made the team this season, the outside hitting duo of Katie McKiel and Sorrel Houghton. Earlier in the week, both McKiel and Houghton were selected to the All-Sunshine State Conference First-Team.

Seven different institutions were represented on the first team as Mattson was joined by Tampa's Katie McKiel, Palm Beach Atlantic's Jennie Anderson and Embry-Riddle's Olivia Roa from the Sunshine State Conference. The Gulf South Conference was represented by Silvia Sartori from Lee, Mackenzie Chrisman from West Florida and Kassie Till from West Alabama.

The GSC featured five different schools honored with Emma Lenoir from Christian Brothers and Isabelle Barnes from Alabama in Huntsville named to the second team. West Florida's Jordy Poppen and Lee's MaKayla Beebe were also named to the second team. 

Five total institutions had two players named with Tampa's Sorrel Houghton, Florida Southern's Rachael Martin and Palm Beach Atlantic's Molly Burkhardt all named to the second team.

Those named to the first team will advance to the All-American ballot.

The teams are sponsored by the Division II Conference Commissioners Association encourages and promotes Division II athletics and high standards of sportsmanship as important elements of higher education. The CCA is a key communications link among the conferences as they discuss views, policies and regulations that impact Division II intercollegiate athletics and works closely with the NCAA as a communications channel to NCAA Division II member colleges and universities.


First Team

Nicole Mattson - OH - Florida Southern - Player of the Year

Katie McKiel - OH - Tampa 

Silvia Sartori - OH - Lee 

Mackenzie Chrisman - MB - West Florida 

Jennie Anderson - MB - Palm Beach Atlantic 

Kassie Till - S - West Alabama 

Olivia Roa - L - Embry-Riddle


Second Team

Sorrel Houghton - OH - Tampa

Emma Lenoir - OH - Christian Brothers

Jordyn Poppen - OH - West Florida

Rachael Martin - MB - Florida Southern

Isabelle Barnes - Alabama in Huntsville

Molly Burkhardt - S - Palm Beach Atlantic 

MaKayla Beebe - L - Lee

The No. 11 ranked Spartans start their post-season run tomorrow at noon competing against the Saint Leo Lions in the first round of the NCAA South Regional. Palm Beach Atlantic is the hosting institution, with all games taking place in Rubin Arena. The Spartans won the regular season conference series over the Lions 2-0.