Tampa Runs to Fourth Place Effort at SSC Race

Tampa Runs to Fourth Place Effort at SSC Race

BOCA RATON, Fla. - The University of Tampa women's cross country team finished fourth as Embry-Riddle University claimed the 2017 SSC Cross Country Championships. The 2017 races were hosted by Nova Southeastern University at South County Regional Park on October 21.

For the sixth time this season, freshman Zoe Jarvis was the top Spartan as she earned championship team honors with a seventh-place showing in the 6K. Her time was 23:06.56. Joining Jarvis in the Spartan top-five were Monika Brill, Sydney Rhodes, Julia Lockridge and Clare McMahon.

The Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University women's cross country program is one-for-one in SSC championships, as the Eagles claim the 2017 title. Along with the women's team, Its the first SSC championship for the university. Eagle runners finished No. 2, No. 4, No. 10, No. 14, and No. 14 to score 43 points. The Lion's first championship came in 2014 when both SLU squads won took home trophies. Last year's champion, Saint Leo University, came in second place with a score of 47. 

Women's Team Scores:
1. Embry-Riddle - 43
2. Saint Leo - 47
3. Florida Tech - 88
3. Tampa - 88
5. Florida Southern - 104
6. Lynn - 153
7. Nova Southeastern - 2004
8. Palm Beach Atlantic - 227
9. Rollins - 289

Colett Rampf of Saint Leo wins the SSC championship for the fourth consecutive year, becoming the only runner in SSC achieve four conference titles. Rampf finished with a time of 21:20.79. Embry-Riddle's Sarah Edens came in second with a time of 22:18.40. Alyssa Bayliff of Saint Leo finished third with a time of 22:31.25

SSC Women's Cross Country Championship Team
1.Colett Rampf, Saint Leo
2. Sarah Edens, Embry-Riddle
3. Alyssa Bayliff, Saint Leo
4. Alex Orr, Embry-Riddle
5. Lia Hanus - Florida Tech
6. Laura Tobin, Saint Leo
7. Zoe Jarvis - Tampa
8. Lauren Csubak, Saint Leo
9. Amarina DeBiasi, Florida Tech
10. Mikaela Hakamaa, Embry-Riddle