Tampa Women Win SSC Championship; Men Finish Fourth

Tampa Women Win SSC Championship; Men Finish Fourth

BOCA RATON, Fla. - The University of Tampa's women's cross country team captured the 2019 Sunshine State Conference Cross Country Championship as the Spartan men ran to a fourth-place finish. The 2019 championships were hosted by Lynn University at South County Regional Park in Boca Raton on Saturday.

2019 Women's Cross Country Championship Recap

The University of Tampa bested Saint Leo University, 34 to 45, to capture the program's second consecutive SSC title. Four Spartans and Lions finished Top-10 in the 90 woman field. Tampa has now amassed 15 league titles in women's cross country, which equals the collective championship total of the other eight active programs.

Women's Team Scores:
1. Tampa - 34
2. Saint Leo - 45
3. Florida Southern - 61
4. Embry-Riddle - 73
5. Palm Beach Atlantic - 166
6. Nova Southeastern - 173
7. Lynn - 194
8. Florida Tech - 224
9. Rollins - 273

Finishing the 6,000-meter race with a time of 22:18.2, Zoe Jarvis becomes the eighth Spartan women's runner to win the SSC individual title and the first since 2010. Jarvis' teammate Aspen Gordon finished in second place, while Sarah Zamot of Florida Southern College took third place. Last year's champions, Sarah Edens of Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University, took fourth place by 13 seconds over Saint Leo's Ashley Lindeman.

SSC Women's Cross Country Championship Team
1. Zoe Jarvis, Tampa
2. Aspen Gordon, Tampa
3. Sarah Zamot, Florida Southern
4. Sarah Edens, Embry-Riddle
5. Ashley Lindeman, Saint Leo
6. Sydney Rhodes, Tampa
7. Paige Patterson, Saint Leo
8. Tania Jarreau, Saint Leo
9. Monika Brill, Tampa
10. Sintayehu Vissa, Saint Leo

2019 Men's Cross Country Championship Recap

Saint Leo finished with 40 team points to capture the program's fourth SSC championship, first since winning three straight 2014-16. Four Saint Leo runners finished Top-10, including the overall winner Shane Bracken. Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University edged Florida Southern College for second place, 54 points to 66 points. 

Men's Team Scores:
1. Saint Leo - 40
2. Embry-Riddle - 54
3. Florida Southern - 66
4. Tampa - 120
5. Palm Beach Atlantic - 140
6. Florida Tech - 149
7. Lynn - 159
8. Nova Southeastern - 209
9. Rollins - 288

Bracken becomes the fifth Lions men's runner to win the SSC Cross Country Championship, finishing the 8,000-meter race with a time of 25:25.6. FSC's Mason Jones held off ERAU's Ryan Szklany for second place. Finishing in fourth place was Florida Southern's Joshua Wagner, followed by Florida Tech's Malte Stockhausen.

SSC Men's Cross Country Championship Team
1. Shane Bracken, Saint Leo
2. Mason Jones, Florida Southern
3. Ryan Szklany, Embry-Riddle
4. Joshua Wagner, Florida Southern
5. Malte Stockhausen, Florida Tech
6. Shawn Bell, Saint Leo
7. Calahan Warren, Embry-Riddle
8. Shaun Bullock, Embry-Riddle
9. Felix Nadeborn, Saint Leo
10. Tadgh McGinty, Saint Leo